Speaker McCarthy Ousted! Historic Effort Led by Small Group of Conservatives

History was made today in the United States House of Representatives. For the first time ever, the Speaker of the House was removed from office, led by a small group of conservatives. Rep Matt Gaetz of Florida was the one who made the motion and he was joined by 7 other Republicans and all Democrats present in removing McCarthy from office.

Here are the Republicans who voted to oust McCarthy:

Andy Biggs (AZ)

Ken Buck (CO)

Tim Burchett (KY)

Eli Crane (AZ)

Matt Gaetz (FL)

Bob Good (VA)

Nancy Mace (SC)

Matt Rosendale (MT)

The final vote was 216-210, with several Democrats and Republicans absent.

Kevin McCarthy made a deal with conservative members of the Republican Conference back in January when he struggled to receive the votes to become Speaker of the House. After 14 ballots, he made a deal that included a vote on a balanced budget amendment, single subject appropriation bills (instead of Continuing Resolutions or Omnibus bills) and many other items which were never delivered. After passing a Continuing Resolution on Saturday night to fund the government for another 45 days, and continue adding more debt to our children, Rep Gaetz and others decided enough was enough.

If we want to change the broken system in Washington D.C., drastic change is needed. McCarthy represented the status quo, as evidenced by his reckless spending bill and broken promises. This was a great move for the American people.

More importantly, it shows that a small group of patriots can affect real changes in politics. 

Watch our coverage of the vote in the video below:

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Jake Duesenberg
    published this page in News 2023-10-03 16:57:44 -0500